Sorrow’s Path: The Rough Path of Nihilism (2010)

Bio (condensed from their press kit):
Sorrows Path was formed by Takis Drakopoulos (bass) and Kostas Salomidis (guitar) back in November 1993. Both being inspired by bands like Memento Mori, Solitude Aeturnus and Candlemass and shortly after Angelos Ioannidis (vocals) and Kostas Farmakis (drums) joined them, the band began rehearsing and composing material. Kostas Farmakis decided to leave the band (sometime in autumn 1995). At the fall of 1995 and while the band was in a search of a new drummer Takis Drakopoulos tragically dies of a serious brain disease leaving the remaining members numb. By the end of 2005 the band was back in action in order to catch up with the time lost all these years. Old songs were being rehearsed once again with new songs and were put together for future release. That was the time when Sorrows Path decided to release the re-mastered version of their first demo along with their ’96 promo tape. With the entrance of 2009, a new guitarist Giannis Tziligkakis (Ominous Sky – GR) joined Sorrows Path in order to fulfil the band’s vision for a solid and heavier sound that the new material demanded. From that time, the band spent many hours rehearsing in order to work out the chemistry between them. Some months later, they started testing their power on stage and by the end of the 2009 everything was ready! The recordings, mixing and mastering of Sorrows Path new album was completed!

Musicians:
Stavros Giannakos (Bass), Angelos Ioannidis (Vocals), Fotis Mountouris (Drums), Kostas Salomidis (Guitar), Giannis Tziligkakis (Guitar)

The opening of THE ROUGH PATH OF NIHILISM, “All Love is Lost,” is the classic metal fakeout. Pretty strings, laid back acoustic guitar, nice voice… I ask myself, this is metal? Then, 1:38 into the track, Sorrow’s Path answers that question with a resounding YES. Yes, it is. Right from the opening track on TRPoN, I felt like I had been transported back to the late 80’s. Sorrow’s Path is bringing classic metal back, riding on virtuous vocals, screaming guitar solos, and tumultuous drums. It’s like all those bands that were really getting big in the 80’s, and then got murdered by the advent of nü-metal, had never gone away.

Sorrow's Path, in front of a scary castle somewhere in eastern Europe...
Sorrow’s Path, in front of a scary castle somewhere in eastern Europe…

Musically, these guys know what they are doing. And for this style of metal, you have to. This isn’t punk rock; you can’t just throw together a bunch of power chords and call it good. Sorrow’s Path has obviously studied their scales and tones and knows the math behind the music. There is a lot of musical talent on TRPoN, making for a very complex and powerful metal album. There are solos and scales and screaming wailing notes galore. If you like that style – late 80’s early 90’s thrash metal – you are going to love TRPoN.

Lyrically, TRPoN is not quite as adept as it is musically, but as I have said before I have to give a lot of credit to anyone writing music in what is not his or her native tongue. Sorrow’s Path hails from Athens, Greece, and writes their music in English (see my review of Trout’s FIVE ROOMS here for more of this discussion), so I can tell you their English is a million times better than my Greek. But there are some bits that just really caught my ear and made me pay attention, and not really in a good way. In “Honestly…” Ioannidis sings “My tears are falling down, a silver sea I see / My wounds are open again, the end will come for me / The people I did trust, raped my silver face / The love I feel inside becomes my epitaph.” I don’t get it. Maybe it’s a lost-in-translation thing. And in “Dirty Game” he sings “Your bowels I eat, lustful is my act / A guardian of love or am I sick / Fucking, smelling, drinking my lover’s flesh / An unholy love will end.” Um, eeeewwww. Again, just they fact that they can write lyrics that are in the right time signature and make some sense are leaps and bounds beyond my skills in writing lyrics in Greek, but there were a lot of lines on TRPoN that left me scratching my head.

Even scarier in near black-and-white...
Even scarier in near black-and-white…

Overall, TRPoN is not a bad album. If you are into the genre, you’ll probably really dig it; as my wife said when I played it for her, “I would have loved this in 1989.” For me, it is really not a genre I get into. There is serious talent on display musically, and there is no denying in listening to TRPoN that Sorrow’s Path knows what the hell they are doing, and they are doing it with aplomb. With my tastes it just didn’t really speak to me, but I know that there is a big group of guys out there with long hair held back with bandannas, in denim jackets with large patches on the back, and probably owning a pair or leather pants or two that will put in TRPoN and literally fall in love. Or, since that’s not “metal,” fall in… hate.

Overall 6 / 10

TRPoN for sale: http://www.sorrowspath.net/merchandise.html

TRPoN site: http://www.sorrowspath.net/

TRPoN Cover
Sorrow’s Path: The Rough Path of Nihilism (2010)
Leave a Reply

