Interview: Adam Bartlett & John Pata (3/4/2013)

Since the world is digital and reading is so passé, I’ve decided that from now on (if at all possible), my interviews will be audio instead of text.  As this is my first audio interview, I (of course) had some hiccups to deal with.  First off, the audio could be better, so I apologize about that and will work to make it better on the next one.  Secondly, and though I’m sure it was user error on my part I’m gonna blame my computer on this one, I lost the final 1/3rd of this interview.  Originally, after editing, the interview was about 75 minutes long, so I broke it into three 25 minute segments to make it an easier listen.  And somehow booted that 3rd segment out the door.  I will continue to try and recover it, but at this point it looks bleak and I think this is now a 50 minute interview!!!

Adam Bartlett and John Pata
Adam Bartlett and John Pata

For my first audio interview, I am speaking with the co-writers / co-directors of one of my favorite movies of 2012, DEAD WEIGHT.  If you have not yet read the review, stop reading this, and go here and read it. They are a couple of down to earth guys that got their stuff together and made a really awesome movie without help from any studios or big names.  Which is exactly what this site is about.

The fun of making a movie in Wisconsin!
The fun of making a movie in Wisconsin!

We got to talk some about their past, the future, movies in general, and what is the BEST John Carpenter film.  Thanks for taking the time to listen to this interview, and I hope the audio segments in the future will be better.  And John, if I see you at a convention or something, take it easy on the shanking… I know I messed it up but I’ll do better next time!

Joe Belknap at work; and he put in some amazing work!
Joe Belknap at work; and he put in some amazing work!  Unfortunately, we discussed his amazing work in the THIRD (aka The Lost) part of the interview…

Check out DEAD WEIGHT on the IMDb: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2094810/

And on its official site, where you can buy a DVD with the oh-so-cool variant cover below! http://carryingdeadweight.com/

Dead Weight (2012) Variant Comic Art Cover
Dead Weight (2012)
Variant Comic Art Cover
One thought on “Interview: Adam Bartlett & John Pata (3/4/2013)

Leave a Reply

