New Review Category: BEER!

So I am über excited to finally be able to announce that Ryan’s Reviews is expanding into the other thing I love besides independent media: Beer!  That’s right, I will begin writing beer reviews for independent and craft breweries, micro-breweries, and brewpubs, and I just couldn’t be happier about this!  I have been an avid beer geek (just behind my level of movie geekery is my beer geekery… enough to type the word “geekery” for the world to see) for years now, and “learned” to drink growing up in Germany.  I have never liked or been into the average American adjunct light lager beer (though I did drink them in college, ’cause, well, it’s college), so I am really happy to be able to take Ryan’s Reviews and use it as a space to be able to show more people the beauty and complexity that is good beer.

Ranger Creek Brewing and Distilling: one of the US' few "brewstilleries" right here in San Antonio, and one of my first reviews!
Ranger Creek Brewing and Distilling: one of the US’ few “brewstilleries” right here in San Antonio, and one of my first reviews!

Many people don’t realize that a.) beer is one of the most complex drinks on the planet, b.) beer can be every bit as high-class as wine or spirits, and c.) without beer we probably would not have survived as a species.  So I love this stuff.  I especially love the fact that, like media, brewing is a field that many people are going out into and forging their own path, doing their own thing, outside of the “mainstream,” and I hope that I will be able to take you my readers along as I check out some of these off-the-beaten-path brews.

Adroit Theory Brewing Company from VA will be one of my early reviews as well...
Adroit Theory Brewing Company from VA will be one of my early reviews as well…

My first review will be soon, and it will be with local San Antonio brewery Ranger Creek.  While I will be focusing on mostly Texas beers for now, I am open to any craft brewery that is willing to send me some of their wares for review.  One of my early reviews will be for Virginia’s new microbrewery, Adroit Theory.  And I hope to announce more soon.  So with that, I will leave you all with visions of hops dancing in my head, and look fondly forward to this new adventure here at Ryan’s Reviews… coming soon.

Leave a Reply

